Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

Wednesday was a rest day from running.  But yesterday (Thursday) evening,  I went out for W3D1 of Couch25K.  I was excited because it has 2 different sets of running 3 minutes straight.  The first 3 minute run was awesome.  Brett stopped to get a rock out of his shoe when I started to run and he wasn’t able to catch me for a while.  He said I was rockin’ the run. The second 3 minute run was a little less awesome.  I was tired and I felt like I was running in place, but I did it! After that, the program was over with after the 5 minute cool down and I continued to run/walk after that for another mile.  Added the final half-loop through the neighborhood because we’re going out of town today and I knew I needed to burn a few extra calories. According to my runkeeper app, my splits were mile 1 = 14:50min, mile 2 = 14:35min and mile 3 = 14:38 min.  Not too shabby for just beginning!

On to Wednesday’s food.  Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo…YUM!  I used to cook the Weight Watchers version of this, but tonight we actually used a pound of pasta, so I added extra of the other ingredients.

We started out with 2 chicken breasts.  I’ve had these in the freezer for a while.  More chicken would have been awesome in this dish, but this is all we had. Salt & pepper those babies and rub with a clove of garlic, then chop into cubes.  The recipe doesn’t say to cube them, but this is how we like it.

Then finely chop 6 cloves of garlic.  Add 2 tsp of EVOO to a skillet and get the garlic going, saute about 1 minute.  Then toss in the chicken and stir around until browned.  While the chicken is cooking, combine 1/2 c heavy whipping cream, 1c of chicken broth and 1/2c yogurt (plain, low fat or Greek-variety) in a bowl.

After the chicken has browned a little, add the yogurt mixture and scrape the bottom of the skillet with a wooden spoon to incorporate any brown bits.  Let this simmer together about 30 minutes. Check out that broth!

Meanwhile boil the fettuccine and drain.  After the mixture has simmered 30 minutes, move the chicken to the side to create a well in the middle.

The original recipe says remove the chicken, but we don’t.  Then add about a cup of parmigiano-reggiano and stir in the middle, then move the chicken back together with everything.  Stir in pasta and about 2 tbsp of parsley (or however much you want).  Toss everything together and you’re DONE creating a delicious meal!

Brett loves this dish.  I thought he was going for a record in most fettuccine alfredo eaten in one sitting – seriously.  Top with more parmigiano-reggiano.  Mmm!

Last night we had tacos – nothing new there.  You’ve seen it!  As soon as we get off work today, we’re heading to San Antonio for relaxation, food and fun!  Will update in a few days.  We’re taking our running shoes with us – we’ll see how that works out.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. frugalfeeding
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 16:29:54

    I was going to go for a run today… but work got in the way. Damnit. This meal looks seriously fantastic!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Carbs, carbs, carbs « Banana…can…Run
  3. Trackback: Sausage Stuffed Bell Peppers « Banana…can…Run

Leave a Reply

