Pork & Brussels Sprouts Stir-Fry

Monday afternoon came and I was so tired and my calves still hurt pretty fiercely, so I took another day off to rest.  Better to rest the legs than push and then not be able to run for many more days!  Brett decided not to run either.  We had a pretty good dinner though.  Another recipe from Rachael Ray’s magazine.  The mag was good this month!

Pork & Brussels Sprouts Stir-Fry – click for recipe.

Here are the ingredients posing – not pictured-brown sugar (whoops!).

The recipe only calls for 2 scallions and 2 cloves of garlic, but we used 3 of each.  I started by cutting up and browning the pork in EVOO.  The pork should have been cut smaller.  I thought I was cutting it thin, but I swear it plumped up!

After that, add the Brussels sprouts and more EVOO to the pan (we used a wok) and brown.  Lovely!

Next up, add garlic and the whites of the scallions, then add in the soy sauce, water & brown sugar.  Smellin’ good now!

Our sauce didn’t really thicken that I could tell, but that’s ok because we made some jasmine rice to pour the mixture over and the rice soaked up the juicy sauce nicely.  Toss the pork back in…

Then plate it up!  Top with the greens of the scallions.

I really liked this dish, but I’m a soy sauce lover – and rice and Brussels sprouts lover.  Brett ate a ton of it too, but I don’t think it was a fave.  He didn’t yell, “staple!” after all.

Tonight is a run night for sure.  Week 4, Day 2 – here I come!  Tomorrow’s update will reveal the next Rachael Ray dish in this week’s line-up.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Daina Ramm
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 10:33:50

    Super-Duper website! I am loving it!! Will be back later to read some more. I am taking your feeds also

    Reply

Leave a Reply

