Carbs, carbs, carbs

No idea why the title.  Oh yeah, because I ate a lot of pasta (and pizza) this week & weekend. Yikes!

Let’s get started with Wednesday!  Wednesday’s meal was a repeat of the Rachael Ray Penne alla Norma I made a couple of weeks ago.  You can see the prep for that and also get her recipe by clicking here!  I did take a picture of it all mixed together just for the heck of it.

On Wednesday I also cooked Thursday’s meal because I knew Brett would probably be working late and I didn’t feel like waiting until 7 to start cooking – I just wanted it done and ready for the oven.  So, I made Weight Watchers Baked Beef Ziti.  The recipe is on Dr. Oz’s website – cool! Click here.  Since he has all the ingredients written out, I’ll just post my pix. Ahh, less work for me on a recap day.

Ingredients posing:

After simmering the garlic for a couple of minutes, brown the meat (drain), then add the spice.

Then add your canned tomatoes and simmer about 5 minutes.

Of course, the pasta should be cooking while all this is going on.  Then you line the bottom of a 9X13 baking dish with a small amount of the tomato sauce.

Then dump in half your pasta, top with half the beef/tomato mixture and half of the mozzarella cheese, then dump in other half of pasta and top with remaining beef/tomato mixture and the rest of the cheese.

I had preheated my oven and was about to pop this in when I remembered I wasn’t baking it until Thursday.  Whoops! I probably would have left out the cheese until time to bake.  Oh well.  When Thursday rolled around, I preheated the oven to 350F and let the dish set out a bit, then I popped it in for about 25 minutes and then topped with even more cheese (shh!) and baked 3 to 5 more minutes until the cheese melted, and this is what we got.

It was yummy.  We’ve had it before, so it was nothing new.  We didn’t eat a whole lot of it because we were craving cheese (and not mozzarella)! This cheese…

From top left going clockwise, that’s Rogue Creamery blue cheese from Oregon, calabrese salami, 2006 aged cheddar from Quebec, Barely Buzzed cheese dredged in coffee, and honey.  Dip the Barely Buzzed into the honey = so good!!  Then we had ziti leftovers for lunch the next day.

Friday night was taco night, but first…we ran!

After taking off 4 days in between again (my legs – ouch!), I was ready to get back out there.  I think for future runs I will start my Runkeeper app after the 5 minute brisk walk warm-up, so I can get a better reading on pace for the first mile.  I was on Week 4, Day 3 – warmup 5 min, run 3, walk 1:30, run 5, walk 2:30, run 3, walk 1:30, run 5.  I did well – the last 5 minute interval I had to walk for a few seconds, but I tacked on some extra running at the end, so I’m going to say I did it!  Since I’ve been running for longer intervals I’ve cut off some distance, so I don’t injure myself.  I did 2.29 miles in 32:19.  Splits: Mile 1 = 14:09, Mile 2 = 14:27.  Friday night we had tacos and conked out early.

Brett’s birthday was Saturday and I couldn’t wait to give him his gift.  We had researched GPS watches and he had wanted a newer touch screen one, but I had seen bad reviews and everyone seems set on the Garmin Forerunner 305, so that’s what I got for him.  I wrapped it in Christmas paper – it’s all I had! This was his spread on the bed.

And this was his spread on the dining room table.

His mom always sends Reese’s on top of the other gifts.  She also sent 2 Steelers pint glasses (which we enjoyed some Pumpkin Ale out of on Sunday) and 2 Steelers shot glasses and Brett got a Steelers shirt…and so did I!  It fits perfectly. Wooo! The Garmin is in the middle.  He was ready to run!  But, we waited until Sunday.  I still need rest days.  Oh, and I bought those roses to brighten up the room and they have now opened up more and are so beautiful.  Love those burnt orange colored roses.

Brett wanted Fettuccine Alfredo for his birthday.  We’ve made it in the past – you can see it by clicking here.  I took a pic though.  Caesar salad on the side. Mmm!

Before this, I made some spinach & artichoke dip. Yes, the weekend was filled with cheese. Eek! – yet, yum!  I had never made it before and we didn’t have breakfast and for some reason, I’ve been craving some type of dip – probably because it’s football season.  Recipe courtesy of Gina’s Skinny Recipes- lighter!  Here it is: Spinach & Artichoke dip. It was soooo good!  We almost ate the whole thing.  Here’s how it turned out.

We served it with white corn tortilla chips.  Gina’s pictures are a lot prettier, so I didn’t take any more photos.

On Sunday, I had a little cereal and then headed out for a run later.  Brett headed out with his new Garmin.  There was cloud coverage and the humidity was 92% – ew!! I had a pretty good run, but Brett’s legs were burning when he got back.  This was Week 5, Day 1, which consists of 5 min warmup, then alternate 5 minute jogs and 3 minute walks for 20 minutes.  That’s 3 total 5 minute jogs.  I walked for 30 seconds in the last 5 minute interval but that’s it.  I did it!  We started at a different spot this time because Brett wanted to mark his laps.  We made it to the spot in less than 5 minutes so we went past it and then came back – we were walking slower than usual, so my mile 1 wasn’t as great as usual time-wise.  I did 2.55 miles in 36:06.  Splits: Mile 1 = 14:47, Mile 2 = 13:51.  I was happy with that.  I thought I would have shaved off more time since I was running more, but I also slowed my pace because I want to be able to jog it all, not just jog full force and then not be able to run the last 2 minutes.  Sunday afternoon we ordered a pizza from Romano’s (in the strip mall). You’ve seen a picture.  We were starving after we returned from getting groceries, so there was no time for a pic!  We enjoyed it with a few glasses of Pumpkin Ale and some Sunday football.  Relaxing!

Next run is not until Tuesday.  Week 5, Day 2 here I come!

Leave a Reply

