Chicken Tacos

Sunday was a no run day.  I had been wanting to make salsa, and Brett always likes to make a beer butt chicken on the grill, so we decided to make chicken tacos.

I googled a cilantro-lime rice recipe and came up with quite a few, but in the end I just boiled some white rice (to make 3 cups), then squeezed in a lime, added about 2 tbsp (give or take) of cilantro and also some salt.  It was dee-lish!

The salsa was courtesy of Gina’s Skinnytaste recipe – Salsa Picante Roja.  We used 2 of the 3 jalapenos pictured – one with seeds, one seeds removed.

This salsa was really good and fresh.  I liked the flavor the roasted jalapeno added.  Brett wondered where the onion was.  I think I’d add that next time.  We also added juice from half a lime (mmm!).

I didn’t take a picture of the chicken because you’ve seen it – just a big char!  I cut up some of a breast (skin removed) and put it on a delicious homemade (by Kroger) tortilla, then added the rice and salsa, added a little (or what looks like a lot in the photo below) sour cream, and topped with some sharp shredded cheddar.

Win!

I have 2 runs to post about, as well as quite a few meals.  I’m hoping to get caught up this weekend!

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. frugalfeeding
    Oct 01, 2011 @ 12:18:34

    Delightful recipe.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Weekend update and (non) running « Banana…can…Run
  3. Trackback: Weekend and a Monday « Banana…can…Run

Leave a Reply

