Meat, cheese & pasta

Saturday, after the run we did a little shopping.  I was starving by midday.  We were going to grill out because it was such a beautiful day, but I was ready to eat!  We settled on Chipotle since we hadn’t been there in quite some time.  If I eat a burrito for lunch at work, I go to Bullrito – and I now know I prefer it over Chipotle.  Brett still prefers Chipotle because the says their steak is the best.  Since we ate such a big lunch, later on in the evening  we decided to have a little variety of cheeses and some prosciutto.  Blue cheeses, aged cheddar and a little Barely Buzzed, some prosciutto and I’m not sure what the other meat is, something Brett had – pastrami, salami, pepperoni – one of those.  It was a lovely evening and we enjoyed this spread with a few drinks.  We even got out a few Halloween decorations (it being October 1st and all), but we were very tired, so we saved those until Sunday.

Sunday morning I wanted something heartier than cereal, and I remembered we had some leftover tomato slices that I didn’t use on my sandwich on Friday.  We also had some deli turkey, eggs and jalapenos.  What to make?  THIS!…

We were ready to grill Sunday. The weather was still cooler and beautiful.  We grilled some jalapeno and cheese sausages for Brett and some kielbasa for me.  We also made the pressed potatoes again.  These are so good as a side dish and pretty quick to make.

We decorated the balcony with our usual witch and cobwebs.  This year we added a hanging zombie man – his eyes flash red!  I will have to get a picture of the balcony.  We also decorated inside and carved a jack-o-lantern while the movie “Halloween” played in the background.  We have seen it many, many times and will watch it many, many more times during this month, so we didn’t pay much attention to it – just love to hear that theme song playing while Brett’s stabbing a pumpkin with a knife.  Ah, bliss.  Anyway…

Monday brought more sausage!  We made Sliced Sausages over Spaghetti with Tomato-Basil Sauce – courtesy of Rachael Ray.

Ingredients…

Here are our sliced sausages…and our tomato sauce with basil.

And here is my final plate.  This dish was fairly easy to make and we enjoyed it.  We used Italian hot sausage, which added to the flavor.  I don’t think I would like any sausage with this that wasn’t a little spicy

Tuesday was Honey Bourbon Chicken!  Sounds good, yes?!

I don’t remember how I stumbled upon this recipe, but it’s on a blog called The Southern Lady Cooks.  I haven’t checked out the other recipes on the site yet, but being from the South, I’m sure I’ll be back!  When I got home from work I trimmed the chicken and combined all the ingredients (for bourbon, we used Maker’s Mark) and put them all in a large Ziploc bag with the chicken. I gave it a good shake and put it in the fridge.  By now, Brett was home and we got changed for our run.  When we returned from the run, I poured the contents of the bag into a large Pyrex glass baking dish and popped it in the oven at 400F (contrary to what the recipe said) and baked it for about 17 to 20 minutes, then I turned the chicken over and cooked for another 15 minutes.  Brett said the chicken looked like it had a spray tan.  Ha! It does kind of look like it would fit in at the Jersey Shore.  The chicken turned out moist and with a sweet and savory taste.  The Dijon mustard flavor really came out.  I liked it, not loved, but liked.  We sided this dish with roasted Brussels sprouts (fave) and some instant potatoes (don’t just me).

Tuesday, we also went out for a run.  It was 81 degrees – still better than 97F!  It actually felt a little breezy.  I did great the first mile, but then had to stop for a minute to catch my breath.  I was breathing short and heavy.  I’m ready for my breathing to be more under control!  This time I actually ran past the house instead of stopping at the 2.8 mile mark.  I continued down the street and back, so I ended up at 3.05 miles.  I need to make the route be 3.2 miles so I’m doing a complete 5K, but that will come.  I did shave a tiny bit off my time though.  3.05 miles in 38:44 minutes.  Mile 1 = 11:52, Mile 2 = 13:09 and Mile 3 = 13:15.  Of course I would like to be down to 12 minute miles (if only all would be like mile 1) by now, so I could be down to 11 minutes or less on the day of the 5K, but I’m just going at a comfortable pace for now and will eventually get there.  The 5K I’m referring to is on October 29th in downtown Houston.  We finally registered for the Great Pumpkin Fun Run.  Excited!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. frugalfeeding
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 17:18:22

    Can’t argue with those three things… haha.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Beef Orzo Soup « Banana…can…Run

Leave a Reply

