Pumpkin cupcakes (and sausage and kraut)

Friday night we went for a run before our usual taco night.  I didn’t really want to run because it was Friday and all, but I had taken off 2 nights, so it was a must.  Plus, Brett pushed me to do it, but I’m glad he did.

After I finished Mile 2, Brett was walking back toward me to tell me he was going home.  Heck, it was Friday – I went home, too.   I did 2.32 miles in 28:52.  Mile 1 = 11:51, Mile 2 = 12:49.  It was not a great run. I was tired and it was hot.

Saturday morning, I made us omelets from leftover sausage from our Sausage Stuffed Peppers, leftover tomatoes and some jalapenos.  And, of course, cheese.  It was quite a delicious omelet if I may say so.  Brett mentioned running again and I groaned.   I decided I needed to though since I had skipped those 2 days.  BAD IDEA!  We went out at about 10am and it was muggy.  I got about .5 miles in and I could hardly breathe.  I walked a few seconds before I decided I was being a wimp only running .5 miles, so I finished the mile, then walked.  My left leg was killing me at this point.  It was sore from Friday’s run.  Also, my runkeeper app didn’t start when I started running.  The clock started but distance didn’t show up until I was almost at the end of the first street and it was obviously off because it didn’t register a mile until well past the mile-marker I know.  So, that made me mad AND pandora kept pausing, so no music.  By 1.3 miles I was done. I could run no more on my left leg.  I turned off my runkeeper app and walked all the way home.   Of course, I wasn’t able to run Sunday because of my leg and probably should rest it one more day because it is still throbbing.  Need many runs in the next few weeks though because of the upcoming 5K.

Enough bellyaching – on to food!  Saturday after my painful run, I made some Pumpkin Cupcakes – courtesy of Gina’s Skinnytaste recipe.  I wasn’t in the mood to take pictures really and hers are so much prettier.  Will I ever get a camera and not take iPhone photos?  Yes!  Until then, I hope your eyeballs will accept my apologies.  The cupcakes were delicious!! The icing was good too but I ate one cupcake with icing and one without.  The next day I chose to eat one without again – the cupcakes themselves are that good – like pumpkin bread. Mmm!

Saturday afternoon, I was done with cooking – so, where did that lead us?  Luigi’s!

I could probably eat here everyday!  Their pizza is so, so nom!!

Sunday morning, we attempted to make pumpkin pancakes.  I didn’t really like the recipe, so I won’t even post it.  The batter was very thick and dense, which maybe pumpkin pancake batter is supposed to be, but these were just way too thick and filling.  I had one.  Brett even had just one.  Later we ventured out into the rainy day (oh it rained and rained, haven’t seen that much rain in…well, years!) and bought groceries.  We didn’t want to grill, but Brett wanted kielbasa, so we baked it instead…with sauerkraut and we had pressed potatoes as a side.  This time, we just boiled small red potatoes until fork tender, then pressed them with a potato masher, poured on a little EVOO, kosher salt and pepper then popped them into a 375F oven for 25 minutes.  I topped mine with a little shredded sharp cheddar when it came out of the oven.  We cooked the kielbasa for the same amount of time.  We used 2 horseshoe pieces of sausage and poured in a big jar of sauerkraut into a large baking dish.  25 minutes later, dinner was served.

Doesn’t that look like the perfect rainy day dish?  It was oh so good!  We also tried out a pumpkin beer we hadn’t tried yet.  Shock Top Pumpkin Wheat – not my fave.  I thought it had a watery back taste.

It looks as if there is no rain in sight in the picture.  Hmm…

Oh, I almost forgot.  Earlier in the day Sunday – since breakfast was a bust – we made Gina’s Skinny Spinach & Artichoke Dip again.  It did not disappoint!!

I have some new meals coming up this week! Can’t wait to see how they turn out…

Leave a Reply

