Weekend and a Monday

Let me begin with saying that I wish I updated my blog more often than every few days, so I didn’t have to recap all the delicious meals over the last few (or 5) days.  But, it’s how I roll, at least sometimes, so here are the things we ate this weekend (and Monday).  Hope to be back with Tuesday and Wednesday later today, so I’m all caught up.

I no longer want running to be my only form of exercise (especially now that my left leg bothers me so, thus causing me to run only 2 miles when I do run).  So, Saturday I gave into the 30 Day Shred.  I read about other bloggers doing it, and I wanted to join in!  Oh Jillian, be gentle. Right!  Brett did his prison work out as he calls it.  He does push-ups and pull-ups and then uses an old tall laundry basket full of heavy clothes to do shrugs. I think he also sometimes uses his giant amp.  So creative.  Meanwhile I did Level 1 of the Shred, which lasted 20 minutes.  I could tell I got a good workout in, but I’ve done lots of different DVDs in the past, Zumba, and now running, so I felt a little hungry for more at the end, but I’m glad I didn’t do anything else because for the next 2 days, I could barely sit down without falling into my chair – and yes, onto the toilet.  I loved it though!! And I’m ready to get pumped with Jillian!

After that, I cooked something I saw on Pinterest.  We hardly ever have a good hearty breakfast.  Well, this ended up taking until mid-afternoon because it takes a while to bake – didn’t really think that through.

Potato Bacon Casserole (click for recipe)

Ingredients:

We baked our bacon  – not the whole pack, we saved about 4 pieces.

Here’s what it looked like before baking . . .

Meanwhile, we tried beermosas for the first time.  I see some people on the web adding vodka, but we just used a light beer and added orange juice.  Pour in the entire can of beer and drink a few sips off the top, then pour in OJ and fill the glass to the top.

These were quite refreshing.  I thought it would be nasty, but nope!

Finally, the baking was finished – final dish & my plate . . .

Delicious! But I never want to wait that long for food again, not even when beer is involved.

Sunday we made chicken tacos again.  Mmm, delicious corn tortillas (heated on the grill in foil)!

No workout Sunday because of the Shred soreness.

And that brings us to Monday’s delicious meal. Oh, it was a good one!

Ground Beef Stroganoff (click for recipe).  Another from Pinterest, of course.

Ingredients . . .

First, brown your ground beef and drain and set aside.  Also, get a pot of boiling water going for your noodles.  Then saute your onions in the butter, and then add the garlic.  After that, toss in the flour and stir.

Then add your beef broth and whisk vigorously to get any lumps out.  Then toss in the sour cream and cream of mushroom soup.

That looks a little blech, but check it out after it’s stirred – creamy!! I added a good amount of pepper, but just a little Kosher salt and it was perfect.   Then add in your beef and you’re done!

Pour over noodles and enjoy! Mmm…

I made this because I know Brett loves Beef Stroganoff, but I never want to deal with the beef part of it.  Ground beef made this really easy.  Brett said it was the best he ever had!  Monday was another rest day because I was still getting over Jillian’s shredding.  Whew!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Turkey chili and nothing much « Banana…can…Run
  2. Trackback: Weekend Update with Mac ‘n Cheese « Banana…can…Run

Leave a Reply

