Layered Mexican Casserole and Scooter’s Spaghetti

Last Tuesday night we had this . . .(from Picky Palate)

Layered Mexican Chicken Rice Bake (click for recipe)

Ingredients:

I started the rice boiling, then added it to the vegetables that had been sauteed.  Then dumped in my cumin.

To cook the chicken, I boiled (poached) it in a little water, then shredded it with a fork.  Here’s what it looked like with the salsa mixed in.

Then, layer.

Before and after.

The top picture is how I left this dish while I went out for a quick 2 mile run.  I don’t have my stats with me because they’re on my new Garmin. I no longer use my Runkeeper app, so I can’t check my phone easily.  When I returned from the run, I topped the casserole with cheese and popped it in the oven.

This was just OK.  It was dry and needed more salsa.  That may be because I think I used a little more rice than was called for.  I also don’t like the layering in this dish.  I think a good stir (with added salsa) is what this dish needs.  It wasn’t worth the dishes I had to use.  My kitchen felt like a mess, but it could be because I was frustrated and wanted to run before it got too dark, but I’m borderline OCD when it comes to cleaning before I walk out of the kitchen.  So, I cleaned everything up before I went for the run and it seemed to take forever, then I came back to this mediocre dish.

Next up, Wednesday . . .

Scooter’s Spaghetti (click for recipe)

I got this recipe from Pinterest.

Ingredients . . .

This dish was really easy.  The only “time consuming” part would be chopping the onion, garlic and pepper.  After that, place the vegetables in a bowl with the butter, then microwave on high for 3 1/2 to 4 minutes.

Then add the cream and milk.

Ooh, creamy!  Brown your meat, then pour in the tomato sauce.  Put a little meat sauce in the bottom of  the casserole (I used a 10×6) then pour in the cooked spaghetti and top with the creamy concoction.

Then add the rest of the meat sauce. I then left this and did the 30 Day Shred.  After that, I topped with parmesan cheese and baked.

Top with the onions and bake for the final five minutes.

I was happy with how this turned out, but it was really rich and creamy.  I couldn’t eat too much of this – probably a good thing!

Thursday night we made tacos because we didn’t have anything planned for that night, so we made our usual Friday meal on Thursday, then Friday went out for pizza at Star Pizza.  Star used to be our go-to Friday night spot.  We have discovered other pizza places and haven’t frequented there near as often, but they still greet us with a smile.  The same people work there and the host always jokes that he doesn’t have our usual corner table available.  Why would it still be “usual” if we haven’t been there in 2 months?  Aww, so sweet.

To be honest, I can’t remember which days I ran and which days I shredded.  I need to check my Garmin watch and update this, so I’ll know for future reference.

Leave a Reply

