Roasted Cabbage

Got back into the workout groove last night with Level 1 of 30 Day Shred.  I love Level 1! But this morning I wasn’t feeling that sore, so I was wondering if next time I should level up, but now the soreness is finding my leg and chest muscles.  Ahh!  It cooled off overnight, so a run is looking promising for this evening.

Last night we had baked chicken, potatoes and cabbage.  I was going to boil my cabbage like I always have in the past, but after roasting veggies and loving them, I thought heck, I can roast cabbage, too!  I had no idea what I was doing, but I cut the bottom off, then stood it up and cut down it’s middle, lay those 2 pieces flat and cut them each in half, then cut those pieces in half.  I put them on foil on a cooking sheet, drizzled them with olive oil, topped with Kosher salt and pepper, then baked at 400F for 20 minutes, carefully turned each piece (some fell apart but that was cool), topped with more salt & pepper, then baked for 18 more minutes.  Oh my, the cabbage was good!  You could actually taste the cabbage itself than when you boil it and it’s all salt (at least mine anyway).  I still like boiled cabbage, but I see lots more roasted cabbage in my future.

I didn’t realize the pre-roast cabbage picture was so blurry.

The chicken is seasoned with Kraft Sun-Dried Tomato Dressing & Marinade.  I rubbed it on both sides, then baked it at the same temp as the cabbage, 400F, for 20 minutes, turned it and then baked about 15 more minutes.  Brett prefers the Lite Zesty Italian dressing, but both are good to me.

Leave a Reply

