Tater Tot Casserole

Yesterday we had our pot luck Thanksgiving lunch at work.  I ate a tiny bit of everything, but it filled up my entire plate.  Delicious turkey and ham, mac ‘n cheese, spinach fudge (no chocolate, was sort of like a quiche and it was GOOD), dressing, green bean casserole, broccoli/cheese/rice casserole and potatoes (which I didn’t eat because the person who cooked it announced he had cut the end of his finger off while cutting the potatoes – NO THANKS!).  I also had a pecan pie bar (mmm) and a slice of pumpkin pie.  Needless to say, I told my boss he could find me under my desk sleeping if he needed me.   Bring on Thanksgiving!

Now, I obviously didn’t really think through this week’s supper menu because I had Tater Tot Casserole scheduled for last night.  And, I had the meat in the fridge for a few days and didn’t want to freeze it, so I went ahead and made it for supper even after the mega-lunch feast.

Tater Tot Casserole (from Pinterest – click to see original blogger’s recipe)

Ingredients:

This was too easy.  Brown the meat, pour off any fat, add salt & pepper, then add chopped onion and cook until onion is softened.  Then pour into 2 quart casserole and mix in cream of celery soup, and top with tater tots.

Bake at 375F for 35 minutes, then top with shredded cheddar (however much you prefer) and bake for another 3 to 5 minutes.

This was really good, but I had eaten so much lunch, I didn’t consume a whole lot of it.  I also don’t know that I would repeat it because it’s just not a meal I would crave often. I do love some tots, though!  Brett said he liked it, but he didn’t eat his normal hefty amount, so I don’t know if he was just being nice.  I always tell him I didn’t invent the recipe, so it won’t hurt my feelings if he doesn’t like it.  He also had eaten some leftovers that I had brought home – ham and turkey – so he could have been a little full from that. Hmm…

Before I put the casserole in the oven, I did Level 2 of 3o Day Shred.  I didn’t feel like it, but I had the time and I knew I needed to burn off at least a little bit of lunch, so I went for it.  Man, it hurt.  I had to modify some things because my left leg was hurting, but all in all, I did it to work my upper body and to get some cardio.  It was awesome as usual. I felt really worked afterward, but today I’m not sore, and I like a little soreness, so I know I’ve burned.

I was going to walk or jog a little on the treadmill today, but my left leg needs some more rest.  I also have to make another pumpkin pie tonight for Brett’s pot luck tomorrow and I may make some trash (aka nuts & bolts aka Chex party mix aka (insert whatever you may call it), and I have to cook supper, so I’ll be busy!

Leave a Reply

