Post-Thanksgiving Weekend Eats

On Saturday I made what my mom calls “hot ham rolls” but I didn’t use her recipe.  I used one I had found on Pinterest.

Hot Hawaiian Ham Roll Sammies (original blog post from pinterest here).

Ingredients:

This one was pretty easy.  Preheat oven to 350F.  Cut the ham rolls in half lengthwise and set aside.  Chop up the onion and simmer in a stick of butter for a few minutes.

Add the Dijon mustard, Worcestershire sauce (not pictured) and poppy seeds (pictured without poppy seeds and Worcestershire).

Place your rolls on some foil in a 9×13 dish, then top with the onion mixture (save a little to top the rolls with).  Top the mixture with about a 1/2 lb. of sliced/shaved ham, then 8 slices of Swiss cheese.

Then add the top half of the rolls and slather on the rest of the onion mixture.  Ours was greasy/oily looking by this point, so I didn’t put very  much on top.

Then cover with foil (and refrigerate if baking later) and bake for 20 minutes.  Cut and enjoy!

These kept me full for most of the day, probably because I ate 3 (or was it 4?) of them.  Delish!

On Sunday, we enjoyed some football and grilled sausages with a side of pierogies.  That’s a lot of sausage!  But they were buy one get one free.  Regular ole kielbasa, cheddar & jalapeno, pecan smoked andouille, and pecan smoked something else that I can’t remember at the moment.  I do love pierogies!  These were potato and cheddar, which is our normal go-to.

Oh, and that would be a Sam Adams Boston Lager in the background. Mmm!

I shall return with some delicious hearty minestrone we made on Monday night and my workout update!

Leave a Reply

