Beef Orzo Soup

Tuesday, I strapped on my new IT band strap thingie and went downstairs to use the treadmill.  My leg started hurting almost immediately, so does that mean it’s not my IT band that’s the problem?  It’s starting to get frustrating because I want to run for over 2 miles and it seems that’s never going to happen. I’d rather run less distance more often than more distance less often.  Anyway, here’s a pic of my stats.

I did a 5 minute warm-up walk, then restarted the treadmill for 33 minutes.  I only made it 26:21 obviously, then I started it over and cooled down with a 3 minute walk.  That’s a sloooooow pace.  I can’t get my pace up because I have to walk quite a bit of the 2nd mile because of my leg.  Sigh.  But, hurray for calorie burn!

Tuesday night I made a Weight Watchers recipe – Beef Orzo Soup (click for recipe).  I made this without mushrooms because I just don’t like mushrooms.  I wish I liked mushrooms, but no.

Ingredients:

This came together rather quickly.  I guess the longest part was waiting for the orzo to puff up, and that was only about 8 minutes.  I took the first picture because the soup looks so verdant!

After the orzo cooked:

And in my bowl:

Pretty, eh?  This wasn’t bad, but I didn’t go back for seconds, nor did I want to.  Brett didn’t go back for seconds either and didn’t eat it for breakfast the next day.  It was good, but not great.  Glad we tried it though.

Wednesday night we had a repeat – Sliced Sausages over Spaghetti (click for past post).  It was pretty delish! Mmm, sausage.

Wednesday was a rest day from exercise.

Thursday, I did Level 2 of the 30 Day Shred and then baked chicken and roasted some Brussels sprouts.  We have that meal pretty often, nothing new there.  Very good go-to!

It is now Friday (FINALLY!) and taco night!  Another rest day from exercise and tomorrow I’m going with Brett to Bally’s – he gets a discount through his job and I have a free guest past for a week.  May try the elliptical and bike to see if it’s easier on my leg.

Leave a Reply

